Is the OZEV Grant Still Available?

Yes. The OZEV grant, the UK government's money off EV chargepoints and new electric cars, is still open in 5 schemes.

31 March 2027home and workplace chargepoint grants end on this date

31 March 2030the Electric Car Grant ends on this date

5older grants that have closed, including the Plug-in Car Grant

Source: GOV.UK, chargepoint grant scheme changes from 1 April 2026.

OZEV Grants You Can Apply For Now

GrantForAmountCloses
EV chargepoint grant for renters and flat ownersFlat owners who live in their flat, or renters of any home, who have a private off-street parking space of their own75%, up to £50031 March 2027
EV chargepoint grant for households with on-street parkingPeople who own or rent their home, have no off-street parking, and fit a cross-pavement channel that is permanent, with highways consent75%, up to £50031 March 2027
EV chargepoint grant for residential landlordsSocial housing providers, freeholders, management companies and landlords of rented homes, all registered at Companies House or for VAT75%, up to £50031 March 2027
Workplace Charging SchemeCharities, businesses, public sector organisations and small accommodation businesses, all with dedicated off-street parking75%, up to £50031 March 2027
Workplace Charging Scheme for state-funded education institutionsState-funded schools, colleges and other education institutionsUp to £2,000 a socket31 March 2027
Electric Car GrantOpen to anyone buying a new eligible car at £37,000 or below; the dealer applies the grantUp to £3,75031 March 2030

You can get the chargepoint grants across England, Scotland, Wales and Northern Ireland. GOV.UK describes the year ending 31 March 2027 as the final year of these schemes.

UK EV Grant History

This list covers every OZEV grant for electric cars and chargepoints, plus the final amount each one paid. People still ask most about two schemes: the Plug-in Car Grant and the house grant

SchemeForOpenedCloses or closedLast amountStatus
Plug-in Car GrantNew electric carsNot stated14 June 2022£1,500 off cars under £32,000Closed
Electric Vehicle Homecharge Scheme (EVHS)Home chargers, including owner-occupied housesSeptember 201431 March 2022Up to £350Closed
EV chargepoint grant for renters and flat ownersFlat owners and renters with off-street parking1 April 202231 March 2027Up to £500 (75 %)Open
EV chargepoint grant for residential landlordsResidential landlords1 April 202231 March 2027A yearly limit of 200 sockets, at up to £500 per socketOpen
EV chargepoint grant for households with on-street parkingHomes with on-street parking and a cross-pavement channel18 March 202431 March 2027Up to £500 (75 %)Open
Workplace Charging SchemeBusinesses, charities, public bodies1 April 202231 March 2027Up to £500 a socket, 40 socketsOpen
Staff and fleets grantSmall businesses (under 250 staff)Not stated31 March 2026Up to £15,000 per installationClosed
Commercial landlord chargepoint grantLandlords of business premisesNot stated31 March 2026Up to £350 a socketClosed
Residential landlord infrastructure grantResidential landlords (wiring for future sockets)Not stated31 March 2026Not statedClosed
Electric Car GrantNew electric cars at or under £37,00015 July 202531 March 2030£3,750 (Band 1) or £1,500 (Band 2)Open

ozev-grant-history.csv holds the table if you want to download it. Every row links to its source on «GOV».«UK», which is published under the «Open Government Licence» v«3.0».

The Plug-in Car Grant: What Became of It?

On 14 June 2022 the Plug-in Car Grant stopped taking new orders. At that point it gave £1,500 off new cars priced under £32,000. It was replaced on 15 July 2025 by the Electric Car Grant, which takes up to £3,750 off cars at or under £37,000.

The eligible cars list shows which models the Electric Car Grant covers.

Does a Grant Still Exist for Homes With a Driveway?

No. The scheme that paid up to £350 towards a house charger, the Electric Vehicle Homecharge Scheme, stopped accepting new applicants on 31 March 2022. Renters, flat owners, on-street homes and landlords can still receive up to £500.

The EV chargepoint grant checker lets you check your own home.

Which Grant Schemes Ended in March 2026?

The residential landlord infrastructure grant, the commercial landlord grant and the small business staff and fleets grant: on 31 March 2026 all three chargepoint grants closed to applications. The home and workplace grants that remained went up at the same time, from £350 to £500 per socket.

Is the OZEV Grant Available in Scotland, Wales and Northern Ireland?

Yes, you can use the flats and renters grant, the on-street parking grant, the residential landlord grant and the Workplace Charging Scheme for properties in England, Wales, Scotland and Northern Ireland. Homes and sites in the Channel Islands and the Isle of Man are not covered. Wales and Northern Ireland use the same OZEV routes as England.

Scotland had two of its own schemes, run by Home Energy Scotland. The domestic charge point funding gave you a grant to help buy and fit a home charge point, and the Used Electric Vehicle Loan gave you an interest-free loan to help buy a second-hand electric vehicle. Neither scheme accepts new applications, but you can register your interest in future funding on the Energy Saving Trust website.

Where each grant applies is set out on GOV.UK Find a Grant.